Skip to content

Tax Office Mails Property Tax Bills

Tax Office Mails Property Tax Bills

Posted on August 23, 2019

Watch the Video

Tax Office Mails Property Tax Bills

By Brett Vines
August 23, 2019

Tax Office mails property tax bills to residents

The Union County Tax Office mailed the 2019 annual property tax bills this week to property owners and mortgage companies with which property owners have their taxes escrowed. The Tax Office sends an informational notice to the approximately 37,000 property owners who escrow their property taxes.

The Union County tax rate for FY 2019-20 is $0.7309 per $100 assessed valuation: $0.2163 for county operations, $0.0133 for Countywide Fire, $0.0233 for Countywide EMS, $0.4450 for Union County Public Schools and $0.0330 for voter-approved bond debt.

The residents of Wingate, Wesley Chapel, Fairview, Mineral Springs, Marshville, Hemby Bridge and Stallings will receive one tax bill that includes both county and municipal taxes. The partnership with these municipalities provides their residents with one point of contact for all property tax questions and concerns.

Property tax payment deadlines

Property taxes are due Sept. 1, 2019.To avoid interest charges, property tax payments must be paid on or before Jan. 6, 2020.Payment envelopes received on Jan. 7 or later and affixed with a USPS, Pitney-Bowes or similar postmark will be deemed received late based on the date actually received in the tax office.

Property owners whose payments are postmarked on or after Jan. 7, 2020, will be charged a 2 percent interest penalty for the month of January and an additional ¾ percent every month thereafter until the bill is paid in full, including interest and any other statutorily allowed fees or charges. All unpaid taxes are subject to be advertised in the local newspaper and an additional advertising fee will be added to each bill.

Tax Office provides assistance with paying tax bills

The Union County Tax Administrator’s office has short term payment plan options for property owners who need assistance paying their annual tax bill. Payment plans must be arranged with the Tax Administrator’s office no later than Dec. 15, 2019. The first payment is required at the time of the arrangement.No formal payment plans will be made after a bill has become delinquent. After delinquency, all bills are subject to authorized enforcement measures.If you need assistance with making these arrangements, contact our customer service department at 704-283-3848.

There are several ways to pay your tax bill

  • By Mail: Mail your check using the return envelope in your tax bill.
  • In person: Pay by cash or check at the Tax Collector’s office located on the first floor of the Union County Government Center weekdays between 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
  • By Drop Box: Located on Stewart St. Extension behind the historic post office.
  • By phone: 1-888-977-8411; E-checks, credit and debit cards accepted, additional processing charges will apply, and you must have account information available.
  • By Internet: Visit our Web page at; E-checks, credit and debit cards accepted, additional processing charges will apply.

For further information, contact: Vann Harrell, Tax Administrator at or Mitzie Baucom, Division Director, Revenue at

Search all news

Tax Assessor and Collection Offices Temporarily Operate Virtually
Sep 15, 2020
Read full story
Join us for Union County Here to Serve Day
Sep 14, 2020
Read full story
Apply Today for the Union County Back to Business Grant Program
Sep 11, 2020
Read full story