Skip to content

Local Emergency Planning Committee

Christopher Whitaker Amateur Radio Emergency Services Primary
Jerry Brewer Amateur Radio Emergency Services Alternate
Sheila Crunkleton American Red Cross Primary
David Helms American Red Cross - Volunteer Alternate
Joseph Hardison A&D Environmental Primary
Toranze Lee Beaver Lane Volunteer Fire Department Primary
Phil Handsel Charlotte Pipe & Foundry Plastics Primary
Harold Polk Charlotte Pipe & Foundry Plastics Alternate
Robbie Ossman CHS-Atrium Primary
Jeffry Smith CHS-Atrium Alternate
Gerrell Wall City of Monroe Primary
Sheri Laney City of Monroe Alternate
Rebecca Israel Colfax Fluid Handling (IMO Pump) Primary
Christopher Duggan Duggan Law Firm, PC Primary
Bryan Edwards Emergency Medical Services Primary
Shannon Jackson Fresenius Kidney Care Primary
Shontavia Covington Fresenius Kidney Care Alternate
Kyle Frankhouse Goulston Technologies, Inc. Primary
John McTaggart Goulston Technologies, Inc. Alternate
Richard Harmon Harmon Environmental, PA Primary
Johnny Blythe Hemby Bridge Volunteer Fire Primary
Matthew Tarlton Marshville Police Department Primary
Ron Fowler Monroe Fire Department Primary
Gregory Collins Monroe Fire Department Alternate
John Jackson Monroe Police Department Primary
Mark Coan Monroe Police Department Alternate
Joheliah Wilson NC State Highway Patrol Primary
Barry Baucom NC State Highway Patrol Alternate
Scott Baranowski Omnova Primary
Rob Supra Pilgrim's Pride Primary
Ben Sherman Pilgrim's Pride Alternate
Stuart Kerkhoff Radiator Specialty Primary
Greg Beamer Southern States Primary
Mike Wilson South Piedmont Community College Primary
Keith Rodgers South Piedmont Community College Alternate
Charlie Porter Stallings Volunteer Fire Department Primary
Chris Harrington Tyson Foods Primary
Jordin Drury Tyson Foods Alternate
Richard Helms UC Commissioner Primary
Vicki Callicutt UC Communications Primary
Susan Furr UC Communications Alternate
Kevin Rigoli UC Fire Marshal Primary
Jon Williams UC Fire Marshal Alternate
Donald Moye UC Emergency Management Primary
Andrew Ansley UC Emergency Management Alternate
Traci Colley UC Environmental Health Primary
David Finley UC Environmental Health Alternate
Dennis Joyner UC Health Primary
Jackie Morgan UC Health Alternate
Jarrod McCraw UC Public Schools Primary
Don Novak UC Public Schools Alternate
Greg Thomas UC Sheriff's Office Primary
UC Sheriff's Office Alternate
Ashley Lantz UC Social Services Primary
Monica Smith UC Social Services Alternate
Theresa Torres UC Transportation Primary
Junior Espino UC Transportation Alternate
Richard Black UC Growth Management Primary
Brian Matthews UC Growth Management Alternate
David Robinson United State Cold Storage Primary
Scott Walsh United State Cold Storage Alternate
Brian Stephenson WBTV Primary
Dr. James Hall Wingate University Primary
Archie Morgan WIXE Radio Primary
Shane Greene WIXE Radio Alternate
Steven McLendon Wesley Chapel VFD Primary
Andrew Neff UC Public Works Primary
Junior Honeycutt UC Public Works Alternate
Kathryn Brown UC Communications Primary
Liz Cooper UC Communications Alternate
Jim King UC Planning Department Primary
Lee Jenson UC Planning Department Alternate

Notes: If a member name cell is blank, it can mean either the current position and term are vacant, or the person who served in the capacity during the term date is still serving until a new appointment is made.


Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA)

Number of Positions


Meeting Information

Quarterly, Members Notified

About the Local Emergency Planning Committee

The purposes of the Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC) are those set out in Title III of the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA), and any other lawful purposes which are assigned to it or permitted by the County Commissioners and/or the State Emergency Response Commission.

Read more

In keeping with the intent of SARA, Title III, all activities of the committee will be conducted in a manner encouraging input and participation from all segments of the community. MEMBERS: As many members as shall be deemed necessary by the Union County Board of Commissioners, the North Carolina Emergency Response Commission and in accordance with Title III. The members and their alternates will be nominated by the County Commissioners and will be recommended to the State Commission for appointment. The Committee's responsibilities include: development of the County's hazardous materials emergency response plan, and regular review and updating of the plan in accordance with Appendix B to these Bylaws and SARA, Title III; receipt of reports and other information from covered facilities and other agencies; community right to know activities, including providing public access to information in accordance with Appendix A of the Bylaws of the Union County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC); assessment of resources necessary to implement the plan, and making of recommendations to appropriate people, agencies and organizations regarding additional resources needed to implement the plan; and compliance and enforcement activities.

Contact Information

Clerk to the Board of Commissioners:
Lynn West, CMC
500 N. Main St., Room 914
Monroe, NC 28112

Phone: 704-283-3853