Skip to content
Library books

Online Resources

Online Resources

Online Resources section banner

CultureGrams logo

CultureGrams provides concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories.

Foundation Center logo

Databases, directories, and funding /philanthropy publications to help you connect to funding opportunities and funders. Available only in the Main Library.

Shelf-e Logo

Free for all authors. Submit your self-published work, and your eBook can be shared with patrons of participating libraries across North Carolina.

Contact Information

Nina Chaffin
Library Director
Email: nina.chaffin@unioncountync.gov

Lindsey Shuford
Assistant Library Director
Email: lshuford@unioncountync.gov


Monroe Library
704-283-8184, option 1
ucpladministration@unioncountync.gov
Children's Services
childrens@unioncountync.gov
Edwards Memorial Library
704-283-8184, option 2
marshville@unioncountync.gov
Reference Services
ucplref@unioncountync.gov
Union West Library
704-283-8184, option 3
unionwest@unioncountync.gov
Teen Services
teens@unioncountync.gov
Waxhaw Library
704-283-8184, option 4
waxhaw@unioncountync.gov
Genealogy Services
ucplgenealogy@unioncountync.gov

Library Locations & Hours

Locations and Hours of Operation

Monroe Library
316 E. Windsor St.
Monroe, NC 28112
Phone: 704-283-8184, option 1
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 5:00
Saturday: 9:00 to 1:00
Sunday: Closed

 

Dickerson Genealogy & Local History Room
Monroe Library

Phone: 704-283-8184, extension 5236
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 5:00
Saturday: 9:00 to 1:00
Sunday: Closed
 

Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library
414 Hasty St.
Marshville, NC 28103
Phone: 704-283-8184, option 2
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 5:00
Saturday: 9:00 to 1:00
Sunday: Closed

Union West Regional Library
123 Unionville-Indian Trail Rd
Indian Trail, NC 28079
Phone: 704-283-8184, option 3
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 5:00
Saturday: 9:00 to 1:00
Sunday: Closed

 

Waxhaw Branch Library
509 S. Providence St.
Waxhaw, NC 28173
Phone: 704-283-8184, option 4
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 5:00 
Saturday: 9:00 to 1:00
Curbside Only
 

Holidays and Closings

In 2021, the Libraries will be closed on the following days:

New Year’s Day

Friday, January 1

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, January 18

Staff Development Day

Monday, February 15

Easter Holiday

Friday, April 2 - Saturday, April 3

Memorial Day 

Saturday, May 29 - Monday, May 31

Independence Day

Monday, July 5

Labor Day Weekend

Saturday, September 4 - Monday, September 6

Veteran’s Day

Thursday, November 11

Thanksgiving Holiday

Thursday, November 25-Friday, November 26

Christmas Holiday

Friday, December 24-Monday, December 27

All libraries close at 5:00 p.m. on Thanksgiving Eve & New Years Eve.

Branch Managers

Tim Speasl
Branch Manager, Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library
Email: tspeasl@unioncountync.gov

Christie Starnes
Branch Manager, Union West Regional Library
Email: christie.starnes@unioncountync.gov

Elaina Wolfe
Branch Manager, Waxhaw Library
Email: ewolfe@unioncountync.gov