Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Tax Office to Mail Property Tax Bills

Search all news

January is “Listing Month” and Time to Apply for Tax Deferment and Tax Exclusion Programs
Jan 6, 2017
Read full story
Ed Goscicki, Executive Director of Union County Public Works, Elected President of NCWQA
Jan 4, 2017
Read full story
County Receives Award for Budget Presentation
Jan 3, 2017
Read full story

Tax Office to Mail Property Tax Bills

Posted on 08/11/15

August 11, 2015, Monroe, NC - The Union County Tax Office will send out the 2015 annual property tax bills in mid-August. Tax bills are mailed directly to individuals who pay the bill – either property owners or mortgage companies with which taxes are escrowed. However, for the first time, the Tax Office will send a courtesy notice to the approximately 37,000 property owners who escrow their property taxes with their mortgage that will indicate the tax liability.

The Union County tax rate for FY 2015-16 is $0.7765 per $100 assessed valuation, $0.2882 for county services, $0.0048 for countywide Fire, $0.0263 for countywide EMS and $0.4572 for Union County Public Schools. The increase of $.0151 in 2015 per $100 assessed valuation is due, in part, to the 2015 countywide revaluation which resulted in a decreased tax base, and in part to increased funding levels.

The residents of Wingate, Wesley Chapel, Fairview, Mineral Springs, Marshville, Hemby Bridge and Stallings will receive one tax bill that includes both county and municipal taxes. The partnership with these municipalities provides these residents with one point of contact for all property tax questions and concerns.

Property taxes are due Sept. 1, 2015. To avoid interest charges, property tax payments must be paid on or before J an. 5, 2016. If mailed, the payment must be postmarked b y the U.S. Postal Service on or before that date.

Property owners whose payments are postmarked on or after Jan. 6, 2016, will be charged a 2 percent interest penalty for the month of January and an additional ¾ percent every month thereafter until the bill is paid. All unpaid taxes will be advertised in the local newspaper and an additional advertising fee will be added to each bill.

If you feel you need assistance paying your annual tax bill, the Union County Tax Administrator’s office has short term payment plan options available. Payment plans must be arranged with our office no later than Dec. 15, 2015. The first payment is required at the time of the arrangement. No formal payment plans will be made after a bill has become delinquent. After delinquency, all bills are subject to authorized enforcement measures. If you need assistance with making these arrangements, please contact our Customer Service division at 704-283- 3848.

To provide easy access to payment options, there are several ways to pay your tax bill:

    • By Mail: Mail your check using the return envelope in your tax bill.
    • In person: Pay by cash or check at the Tax Collector’s office located on the first floor of the Union County Government Center weekdays between 8 a.m. – 5 p.m.
    • By Drop Box: Located on Stewart St. Extension behind the Historic Post Office.
    • By phone: 1-888-977-8411; Credit and debit cards accepted, additional processing charges will apply, and you must have account information available.
    • By Internet: Visit our webpage at; Credit and debit cards accepted, additional processing charges will apply .

For further information regarding this press release
Contact: John Petoskey, Executive Director, Tax Administration
Vann Harrell, Division Director, Revenue