Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Deadlines in the Union County Tax Administrator's Office

Search all news

Statewide Stay At Home Order Issued
Mar 30, 2020
Read full story
Union County Government Service Changes
Mar 22, 2020
Read full story
Union County Community Development Block Grant
Mar 21, 2020
Read full story

Deadlines in the Union County Tax Administrator's Office

Posted on 12/19/16

December 19, 2016, Monroe, NC - January is a very busy time in the Union County Tax Administrator’s Office. January is when most residents pay their real estate taxes, are required to list their real and personal property, file for valuation appeals, and submit applications for tax deferment and exemption programs. Property owners should be aware of the key dates listed below.

Reminder: 2016 Property Tax Bills Due January 5

Jan. 5, 2017 is the last day for Union County property owners to pay real and personal property taxes for 2016 without interest. Tax payments not postmarked by Jan. 5 begin accruing interest on Jan. 6 at the rate of 2 percent for the first month late and ¾ percent each month thereafter. There are several ways to pay your tax bill:

  • By Mail: Mail your check using the return envelope in your tax bill or mail to PO Box 38, Monroe, NC 28111
  • In person: Pay at the Tax Collector’s office located on the first floor of the Union County Government Center between 8 a.m. – 5 p.m., Monday - Friday
  • By Drop Box: Located on Crowell St. behind the old Tax Collector’s Office
  • *By Phone: 1-888-977-9411
  • *Online at: www.unioncountync.gov

*Convenience fees will apply to payments made by credit or debit card and e-checks All tax bills remaining unpaid after Jan. 5, 2017 will be subject to delinquent collections enforcement measures including bank levies, wage garnishments, and other measures allowed by state law. Taxes not paid by Feb. 28, 2017 will be advertised as delinquent in a newspaper of general circulation.

Listing Personal Property and Changes to Real Estate

January is referred to as the “listing month” since North Carolina statutes require property owners to report personal property, both business and individual, with the Tax Administrator’s Office between Jan. 1 and Jan. 31. Listing forms on existing accounts are mailed to the owner by the end of December; however, failure to receive a listing 704-283-3746 704-283-3616 Fax John C. Petoskey Tax Administrator form does not invalidate the requirement to file.

Listings can also be made in person during the week from 8 a.m. – 5 p.m. at the Tax Administrator’s Office located at 500 North Main Street in Monroe in Suite 236 of the Government Center. New business owners can list online at www.unioncountync.gov. Both business and individual personal property owners can obtain a listing form by calling 704-283-3746 or online at www.unioncountync.gov.

Property owners showing “good cause” can obtain a filing extension to March 15 by applying on line at www.unioncountync.gov or by sending a written request to the Tax Administrator by Jan. 31. Failure to list either business or individual personal property by Jan. 31, unless an extension is granted, will result in a 10 percent late listing penalty. Real Estate property owners are not required to list because Union County is on a permanent listing system. However, property owners are advised to report any new improvements or deletions to their property in order to ensure accurate taxation.

Filing Applications for Tax Deferment and Tax Exclusion

Property owners wishing to apply for any tax deferment or tax exclusion programs should complete an application in January. Tax deferment programs include present use or farm use, and circuit breaker. Tax exclusion programs include exempt, elderly, and historic properties. All programs have different requirements that must be met; such as ownership, income, and use, before deferment or exclusion status is granted.

Property owners can apply on line at www.unioncountync.gov or property owners interested in these benefits can contact the office by calling 704-283-3746 or by visiting the county’s web site at www.unioncountync.gov for more information.