Skip to content

Burn Ban Issued

Burn Ban Issued

Posted on April 8, 2020

Fire in a barrelUpdated: April 13, 2020
The North Carolina Forest Service lifted the ban on open burning on April 13, 2020. Click here for more information.

Due to increased fire risk, the North Carolina Forest Service has issued a ban on all open burning and has canceled all burning permits for the western region of the state which includes Union County. While the burning ban is in place, no outdoor burning can occur that is more than 100 feet from your residence.

Residents in unincorporated Union County may continue to have small fires, but must ensure they are no closer to your home than 25 feet and no further than 100 feet. Residents within the city or town limits of Monroe, Indian Trail, Stallings, and Waxhaw are still required to apply for open burning permits for any outdoor burning that does not utilize an outdoor fire pit with a screen or chimney.

The burning ban went into effect on April 3, 2020. It will remain in effect until further notice. For more information, visit the NC Forest Service website.

Search all news

Employees Awarded Caught In The Act After Potentially Life-Saving Actions
Jun 1, 2020
Read full story
2020 Census: What You Need To Know
May 26, 2020
Read full story
County Facilities Closed For Memorial Day
May 20, 2020
Read full story