Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Board of Equalization and Review Meeting Schedule Updated (6/28/16)

Search all news

Statewide Stay At Home Order Issued
Mar 30, 2020
Read full story
Union County Government Service Changes
Mar 22, 2020
Read full story
Union County Community Development Block Grant
Mar 21, 2020
Read full story

Board of Equalization and Review Meeting Schedule Updated (6/28/16)

Posted on 06/28/16

Pursuant to N.C.G.S. 105-322 the Union County Board of Equalization and Review will meet as required by law.

PURPOSE OF MEETINGS

To hear upon application, taxpayers that own or control taxable property assessed for taxation in Union County, with respect to the valuation of such property, or the property of others, and to fulfill other duties and responsibilities required by law.

TIME OF MEETINGS

The Board will convene for its first meeting on Thursday, April 14, 2016 for the purpose of hearing appeals accepted since January 1, 2016. The Board will adjourn for the purpose of accepting new requests for appeal on Thursday, May 19, 2016. Meetings will begin promptly as scheduled in the Commissioners Board Room 1st Floor, Union County Government Center, 500 North Main Street in Monroe, NC. The Board will meet on the following dates and times:

Note: The Board of Equalization and Review has cancelled the meetings highlighted in red below.

Thursday, April 14 1:30 pm – 4:30 pm

Tuesday, April 19 9:00 am –12:00 pm

Tuesday, May 3 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, May 5 1:30 pm –4:30 pm

Tuesday, May 10 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, May 12 4:00 pm –7:00 pm

Tuesday, May 17 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, May 19 1:30 pm – 4:30 pm*

Tuesday, May 24 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, May 26 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm

Thursday, June 2 1:30 pm – 4:30 pm

Tuesday, June 7 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, June 9 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm

Tuesday, June 14 9:00 am -- 12:00 pm

Thursday, June 16 1:30 pm – 4:30 pm

Tuesday, June 21 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, June 23 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm

Tuesday, June 28 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, June 30 1:30 pm – 4:30 pm

Tuesday, July 12 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, July 14 1:30 pm – 4:30 pm

Tuesday, July 19 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

Thursday, July 21 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm

Tuesday, December 6 9:00 am -- 12:00 pm

Tuesday, December 13 9:00 am – 12:00 pm

*Requests for hearing must be received prior to the office close of business at 5:00 pm on Thursday, May 19, 2016, the advertised date for adjournment. In the event of earlier or later adjournment, notice to that effect will be published in this newspaper.

Owners of real property that receive an assessment notice after the adjournment of the Board of Equalization and Review may file a request for appeal within 15 days after the date of the notice.

The schedule for the hearing of appeals will be posted at the Office of the County Assessor, serving as Clerk to the Board of Equalization and Review, and will also be provided to individuals and organizations that have requested notice pursuant to G.S. 143-318.12.

All requests for hearing must be made in writing to:

Robin E. Merry, Clerk Union County Board of Equalization & Review

500 N. Main Street, Suite 236

PO Box 97, Monroe, NC 28111-0097