Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Board Elects Rushing Chairman and Aikmus Vice Chairman

Search all news

Union County Government Service Changes
Mar 22, 2020
Read full story
Boil Water Advisory Lifted
Mar 12, 2020
Read full story
Library’s Year in Review: Usage Up in 2019
Mar 6, 2020
Read full story

Board Elects Rushing Chairman and Aikmus Vice Chairman

Posted on 12/08/15

December 8, 2015, Monroe, NC – The Union County Board of Commissioners on Monday elected Stony Rushing chairman of the Board of Commissioners, and Frank Aikmus was elected vice chairman.

The chairman and vice chairman are elected annually for a term of one year. Rushing and Aikmus cannot be removed from the office of chairman and vice chairman unless they become disqualified to serve as a Board member.

The chairman presides at all Board meetings. To address the Board, a member must be recognized by the chairman. The chairman has the following powers:

  • To rule on parliamentary procedure, including the right to rule out of order on any motion offered for patently obstructive or dilatory purposes
  • To determine whether a speaker has gone beyond reasonable standards of courtesy in his or her remarks and to entertain and rule on objections from other members on this ground
  • To call a brief recess at any time
  • To adjourn in an emergency

The vice chairman acts in the absence or disability of the chairman. If the chairman and vice chairman are both absent from a meeting of the Board, the members present may choose a temporary chairman.