Board of County Commissioners
Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Board of Commissioners

Public Participation During North Carolina Stay at Home Order

In order to maintain the safety of County residents, staff, and the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC), all meetings that are normally open to the public will be conducted virtually for the duration of the NC Stay at Home Order.

Learn More About How to Participate

County Commissioners

BOCC Meetings

Public Notice Regarding the Board of Commissioners' Regular Meeting on April 20, 2020
Apr 20, 2020, 3:00 PM
View details

Meeting schedule
Event calendar

BOCC Meeting Agendas & Minutes


Searching for a particular meeting? The default meeting search is a "6 month Span". Use the drop down menu to select "Custom Date Range" if you need a specific date or range.

ALL (BOCC, CHSB, Planning Board and non-BOCC) Meetings from 2011-Present are searchable on this page. Please contact the Webmaster for assistance if you cannot find the meeting agenda that you are searching for.

Appointments to Boards and Committees

Procedure for Appointments to Boards and Committees

2020 Appointments

Board or Committee


Agricultural Advisory Board

Chairman Jerry Simpson

Catawba River Water Supply Project Governing Board

Chairman Jerry Simpson

Commissioner Richard Helms

Centralina Council of Governments

Chairman Jerry Simpson

Alternate: All Commissioners

Economic Development Advisory Board

Commissioner Frank Aikmus

Fire Commission

Vice Chairman Dennis Rape

Human Services Board

Commissioner Richard Helms

Job Ready Partnership Council

Vice Chairman Dennis Rape

Juvenile Crime Prevention Council

Commissioner Stony Rushing

Library Board of Trustees

Commissioner Frank Aikmus

Local Emergency Planning Committee

Commissioner Richard Helms

Charlotte Regional Transportation Planning Organization (CRTPO),
formerly Mecklenburg-Union Metropolitan Planning Organization (MUMPO)

Vice Chairman Dennis Rape

Alternate: Commissioner Frank Aikmus

Parks & Recreations Advisory Board

Commissioner Stony Rushing

Rocky River Rural Planning Organization
Transportation Advisory Committee

Commissioner Stony Rushing

Alternate: Commissioner Frank Aikmus

School Liaison

Chairman Jerry Simpson

Alternate: Vice Chairman Dennis Rape

South Piedmont Community College Board of Trustees

Commissioner Frank Aikmus
Term Expires June 30, 2020

Transportation Advisory Board (Transit System)(Local)

Commissioner Frank Aikmus

Yadkin River Supply Project Advisory Board

Chairman Jerry Simpson

Commissioner Richard Helms

Board Vacancies

Union County Board of Commissioners Vacancies:

View Vacancies

Application Form

Contact Information

Clerk to the Board of Commissioners:
Lynn West, CMC
500 N. Main St., Room 914
Monroe, NC 28112

Phone: 704-283-3853

About the Board of Commissioners

The Board of County Commissioners is the legislative and governing body of Union County and consists of five members, elected at-large. Commissioners serve four-year staggered terms. During its first meeting of December, the Chairman and Vice Chairman are elected by and from the Board of Commissioners. In 1965, the Union County Board of Commissioners voted to choose the Commissioners/Manager form of government and appointed the first county manager.

Rules of Procedure