Skip to content

Union County, North Carolina

Library books

Adults

Adults

Spotlight Program

All library locations are closed until further notice

Proctoring Services

Proctoring services are available to Union County Public Library cardholders at the Monroe Library and Union West Regional Library locations. To make a proctoring appointment at the Monroe Library, send an email to libraryproctoring@unioncountync.gov. To make a proctoring appointment at Union West Regional Library, send an email to uwproctor@unioncountync.gov.

Contact Information

Nina Chaffin
Library Director
Email: nina.chaffin@unioncountync.gov

Lindsey Shuford
Assistant Library Director
Email: lshuford@unioncountync.gov


Monroe Library
704-283-8184, option 1
ucpladministration@unioncountync.gov
Children's Services
childrens@unioncountync.gov
Edwards Memorial Library
704-283-8184, option 2
marshville@unioncountync.gov
Reference Services
ucplref@unioncountync.gov
Union West Library
704-283-8184, option 3
unionwest@unioncountync.gov
Teen Services
teens@unioncountync.gov
Waxhaw Library
704-283-8184, option 4
waxhaw@unioncountync.gov
Genealogy Services
ucplgenealogy@unioncountync.gov

Library Locations & Hours

Locations and Hours of Operation

Monroe Library
316 E. Windsor St.
Monroe, NC 28112
Phone: 704-283-8184, option 1
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Dickerson Genealogy & Local History Room
Monroe Library
Phone: 704-283-8184, extension 5236
Hours:
Monday - Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: closed

Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library
414 Hasty St.
Marshville, NC 28103
Phone: 704-283-8184, option 2
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00

Union West Regional Library
123 Unionville-Indian Trail Rd
Indian Trail, NC 28079
Phone: 704-283-8184, option 3
Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: 2:00 to 5:00


Waxhaw Branch Library
509 S. Providence St.
Waxhaw, NC 28173
Phone: 704-283-8184, option 4
Hours:
Monday & Thursday: 9:00 to 7:00
Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday: 9:00 to 6:00
Saturday: 1:00 to 5:00
Sunday: closed

Holidays and Closings

In 2020, the Libraries will be closed on the following days:

New Year’s Day

Wednesday, January 1

Birthday of Martin Luther King, Jr.

Monday, January 20

Staff Development Day

Monday, February 17

Easter Holiday

Friday, April 10 - Sunday, April 12

Memorial Day Weekend

Saturday, May 23 - Monday May 25

Independence Day

Friday, July 3

Labor Day Weekend

Saturday, September 5 - Monday, September 7

Veteran’s Day

Wednesday, November 11

Thanksgiving Holiday

Thursday, November 26-Friday, November 27

Christmas Holiday

Thursday, December 24-Sunday, December 27

All libraries close at 5:00 p.m. on Thanksgiving Eve & New Years Eve (Wednesday, November 25 & Thursday, December 31).

Branch Managers

Tim Speasl
Branch Manager, Lois Morgan Edwards Memorial Library
Email: tspeasl@unioncountync.gov

Christie Starnes
Branch Manager, Union West Regional Library
Email: christie.starnes@unioncountync.gov

Elaina Wolfe
Branch Manager, Waxhaw Library
Email: ewolfe@unioncountync.gov